Minutes of

The Stated Meeting of Olympia Presbytery 1:00 PM, Saturday, Nov 11, 2023 Little Church on the Prairie

ROLLS Attached 111123 Presbytery Rolls

WELCOME ErrolLynne Marsh welcomed all and thanked Little Church on the Prairie 1:07 pm

RECOGNITION Rev Dr Martha Greene served in place of Moderator ErrolLynne Marsh, who was

recognized for her service with a gift, thanks, and prayer.

CALL TO ORDER Martha Greene

CLERK MOTION: to elect Rev. Kari McFarland as Clerk pro tempore. Motion carried.

CALL TO WORSHIP Martha Greene led and offered prayer.

QUORUM A quorum was declared.

INTRODUCTIONS New presbyters: Rachel and Josh Young, Geoff Browning

Guests: Taeler Morgan introduced Rev. Dr. Mae Elise Cannon and Steve Briggle,

Regional Coordinator of Churches for Middle East Peace

First time commissioners: Liz Hylton, RE from Ocean Beach, first time elders Bill

and Andrea Klouse, FPC Puyallup

VOICE MOTION: to grant voice to Mae Elise Cannon. *Motion carried*.

DOCKET **MOTION:** to approve the docket. *Motion carried*.

ACKNOWLEDGE Land acknowledgement by Rev. Laura Nile Tuell, Lakewood PC

WELCOME Welcome to Little Church on the Prairie by Rev. James Kim, Senior Pastor

MISSION PARTNER Greeting from our PCUSA Mission Partner - Churches for Middle East Peace.

Rev. Dr. Mae Elise Cannon spoke and answered questions. Moderator closed in

prayer.

CLERK'S REPORT Rev. Kari McFarland

Meeting Minutes of September 14 were approved by acclamation after the

correction of ErrolLynne Marsh's name.

CONSENT AGENDA MOTION: To hold the parts of the Consent Agenda for which the links are not

working to the end of this meeting. *Motion carried*.

CORNERSTONE Update from Rev. Jennifer Swier

COM appointed Cornerstone AC: from Cornerstone: Elaine Emans, Mark

Downing, and Cheryl Rogers. From Westminster Olympia: Kevin Krueger, from

United Churches: Lara Krutsinger-Perry, and Mark McHugh is the chair; John Bosshart is a non-voting member.

MOTION from the AC: The AC for Cornerstone PC establishes December 17, 2023 for the final closing worship service, and December 31, 2023 as the date at which activities shall cease and the congregation shall be dissolved. *Motion carried*.

Prayer was offered for Jennifer and the congregation.

PRAYER A Prayer for Veterans Day by Rev. Tom Paine

TREASURER Treasurer's Report and Leadership Council Budget Report by Ron Marshall

MOTION: to approve the 2024 budget report. *Motion carried.*

NOMINATING Nominating Committee Report by Rev. Barlow Buescher

MOTION: to send Rev. Barlow Buescher as an alternate TE to GA. Motion by Melody Young. *Motion carried*.

MOTION: The Nominating Committee places the following slate in nomination, seeking approval:

TRUSTEES: Moderator and Vice Moderator

CPM: Tad Monroe, Deanna Gemmer, Ofe Abreu Rosario

COM: Mark McHugh, Laura Nile Tuell, John Murphy, Fay Garrett, and Gary Jackson.

LEADERSHIP COUNCIL: Moderator and Vice Moderator, Aya Clark, Irvin Porter.

INVESTIGATIVE POOL: Tom Hill, Nicole McKnight, Lesley Paine.
PERMANENT JUDICIAL COMMITTEE: Jeff Cheifetz, Ruth Moore

PERSONNEL: Therin Fenner

GENERAL ASSEMBLY DELEGATES:

TE Tammy Stampfli, Validated Ministry

Alternate: Barlow B

RE Dan Evans, Lakewood Alternate: Kathy Marshall

MODERATOR: Robin Crawford and for VICE MODERATOR: Aaron Stewart.

Motion carried.

Too many people were asked to serve on CPM. Deanna Gemmer asked to have her name withdrawn from consideration.

MOTION: To revise the 2024 Nominating Committee Report to remove Deanna

Gemmer from CPM. Motion carried.

HAGAR'S Hagar's Guide Team presented by Ron Marshall

MOTION: to approve the proposed 2024 budget for Hagar's Community Church.

Motion carried.

SOUND VIEW Sound View AC Report - Pam Anderson, Board Chair of Sound View Camp

Pam noted that Salish Sea non-profit is to administer the funds and control the

budget next year.

MOTION: to approve the proposed 2024 budget from the Sound View Board.

Motion carried.

TRUSTEES Report presented by Martha Greene

Update on the sale of Westminster Tacoma

STORIES Four Congregation Stories presented: Ocean Beach (Liz Hylton), Chapel by the

Sea (Linda Flatley), Lakewood Grace (Brad Epperson), Little Church on the

Prairie (James Kim). Martha Greene closed with prayer.

COMMISSION ON Ruth Moore, COM co-moderator

MINISTRY Interview with new minister members: Rachel and Josh Young (Lacey) and Geoff

Browning (retired) transfer from San Jose Presbytery

Reinstated Elizabeth Klein (Validated Ministry)

Therin Fenner - moving to Singapore for three years but staying a member of OP.

HAGAR'S Guide Team Report - Deanna Gemmer

Sunday night and Tuesday afternoon visitation is possible if Deanna is contacted.

Deanna prayed.

DOCKET **MOTION:** to extend the docket to 4:30. *Motion carried*.

CONSENT AGENDA **MOTION:** to reconsider the approval of the consent agenda. *Motion carried*.

MOTION: To revise the motion and strike the parts to hold the consent agenda.

Motion carried.

WORSHIP Worship continued with Ephesians 4:11-16 and Luke 11:37-41 (NIV),

followed by "Called to Unity" by Rev. Angela Chen Miksovsky, pastor at Buckley

Community Presbyterian Church, who also served communion with Rev. Brad

Epperson of Lakewood Grace.

NECROLOGY Read by Angela Chen Miksovsky and Kari McFarland

Anita Calhoun Karen Blatman-Byers

Bill Edmundson Kathy Schieno
Carolynn Howard Ken Upton

Dave Richards Larry Richardson

Deanna Zieske Laura Bunge
Dianna Spring Linda Greer

Dorothy Barlow Marge Gemmell
Edith Reynolds Marjorie Beard
George Weirich Norma Zylstra
Glenn Paulsen Park Chambliss
Gloria (Moon) Gamblin Russ Trentledge
Helen (Kilbuck) Muchow Thelma Bratton
John McNeel Wayne Clark

ADJOURN **MOTION:** to after the benediction. *Motion carried*. Meeting ended at 4:34.

BENEDICTION Sung by Matt Redmond

Respectfully submitted by Rev. Lesley Blair Paine, Recording Clerk, 14 November 2023